Call to Courage

The 10th Anniversary of the Call to Courage Awards Breakfast will be held on Saturday, April 9, 2011, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Buffalo, NY, from 9AM to 11AM. This high profile sports breakfast is sponsored by the Buffalo Pro Ministry of Athletes in Action. Every spring for the past nine years, former Buffalo Bills quarterback, Frank Reich, who engineered the "Greatest Comeback in NFL History", hosts this outstanding community sports breakfast event.

Reich will present the 2011 Call to Courage Award to Washington Redskins two-time All Pro Linebacker and former Buffalo Bill, London Fletcher. The John Carroll University product was a standout for the Bills from 2002 to 2006. An undrafted free agent out of college, the 13 -year NFL veteran also played four seasons with the St. Louis Rams and was part of the Rams Super Bowl Championship team along with former Call to Courage Award Winners, Kurt Warner and Don Davis.

The honorary chairs for this year's breakfast will be Buffalo Bills Head Coach Chan Gailey and his wife Laurie. "We are thrilled to have such an outstanding program in this our tenth year with such wonderful individuals like Coach Gailey and his wife Laurie and London Fletcher" stated Reich.

The Call to Courage Award Breakfast held in Buffalo, is Reich's way of thanking the Western New York community for the love and appreciation that was displayed to him and his family while he was a member of the Buffalo Bills during those great Super Bowl years. In recognition of the 20th anniversary of the Bills first Super Bowl appearance, another feature at this year's breakfast will be a round table discussion with several members who played in Super Bowl XXV.

Each year, Reich presents the Call to Courage Award to a current NFL player who has exemplified outstanding character, commitment and leadership on and off the field and in the community.
The Call to Courage Award Breakfast has featured some of the biggest names in sports over the past nine years. Stars like, Kurt Warner, Chad Pennington, Curtis Martin ,Don Davis, Bob Christian, Trent Dilfer, John Kasay, Jon Kitna and Heath Evans are previous award winners.

In addition to the NFL winner of the Call to Courage Award, the High School Call to Courage Award will also be given to an outstanding member of a Western New York high school football team. Bills great, Steve Tasker is this year's MC.

Fred and Kathy Raines are the Athletes in Action couple who have been in charge of the AIA Buffalo Pro Ministry for the past 28 years. Frank Reich is currently the quarterbacks coach for the Indianapolis Colts.
The Call to Courage Awards Breakfast is open to the public. Tickets are $40 each and a table of ten is $350. For ticket information call 716-559-1800 or find us on Facebook at aiabuffalo.